Division of Microelectronic Systems Design (EMS)

Research Topics

The goal in microelectronic systems design is to develop an optimal realization under given constraints. These can generally be quite different in nature; for instance they can cover specifications regarding functionality, limited energy resources or a fixed target technology. To master the vast number of possible design decisions, we investigate systems with respect to application, design methodology, and architecture.

In the beginning of the design the application has to be defined and analyzed in detail. Commonly, an exact specification is not available in this early stage (partly due to short product cycles)  or is subject to change throughout the process. Our focus on applications is primarily on communication systems (wireless communication, coding standards, MIMO systems), which pose the designer with a large challenge w.r.t throughput and energy efficiency, especially in mobile application scenarios. Furthermore we investigate ambient systems and the acceleration of computationally demanding simulations from the financial mathematics and scientific domains.

The implementation of a system can be done in various styles and using different architectures. We develop application specific hardware and application specific instruction set processors (ASIPs) in field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) and application specific integrated circuits (ASICs). Besides the optimization on a microarchitectural level we deal with heterogeneous systems comprising components with differing implementation styles, as well as with networks-on-chip and 3D-DRAM.

We use different methodologies, which allow for early estimation of implementation complexity, performance, reliability or other aspects of the implemented hardware. By means of rapid prototyping we can do exhaustive design-space-explorations, partially leveraging high-level synthesis tools but also manual refinement of a system from the functional model to the register transfer description of the hardware.

Communication Systems

Digital communication systems are essential in today's globally connected world. We investigate new systems for signal processing in the baseband / PHY layer. Our research includes the whole range from communication theory and algorithms to hardware architectures and their implementation in chips. Therefore, in our department, communication engineers and hardware designers work closely together.

Projects:

DRAM

3D-DRAMs (WIDE I/O) are a promising approach for mobile devices like Tablet-PCs and Smartphones. In the area of servers exists a high potential as well due to the high bandwidth and energy efficiency of this new memory architecture. In our research group, we develop and evaluate novel DRAM architectures, we implement DRAM controllers and we investigate the thermal behaviour of Wide-I/O DRAM by means of virtual platforms.

Projects:

Reliability

Technology scaling has reached a point at which process and environmental variability are no longer negligible. We focus our research on hardware-reliability in wireless communication systems, as well as memories (SRAM, DRAM). We follow a cross-layer approach, which exploits the mutual trade-offs of system performance, hardware reliability, and implementation complexity. Wireless systems are especially suited for this approach because they have inherent algorithmic error resilience.

Projects:

Energy Efficient High Performance Computing

Our research group develops and evaluates new methodologies that are helpful to design sophisticated heterogeneous platforms for high-performance computing applications. In particular we focus on accelerating application-specific arithmetic problems, so-called "kernels". For the final design, we analyze the possible acceleration factors as well as the energy saving potentials, for example when using FPGAs in financial simulations. We employ the latest development tools (High-level synthesis, Maxeler design flow, Vivado design flow) as well as the most recent hardware platforms like the Xilinx Zynq EPP.

Projects:

Ambient Systems

Wireless Sensor Networks collect information from the real world and form the backbone of future services (Internet of Things, Cyber Physical Systems), which will help us in our daily private and work life. We view this topic from different perspectives in an interdisciplinary way in our research, develop solutions and evaluate their relevance in practical use.

Projects:

Virtual Prototypes

Today's companies have to deal with complex hardware architectures such as heterogeneous multi-core systems. Therefore, new development tools and approaches such as Virtual Prototyping are needed for efficient and fast design on electronic system level. In our research, we use SystemC and gem5 based virtual platforms for a thorough design space exploration on software and hardware level.

Projects:

Zum Seitenanfang

Fachgebiet Entwurf Mikroelektronischer Systeme (EMS)

Forschungsgebiete

Beim Entwurf mikroelektronischer Systeme geht es darum, eine optimale Realisierung unter gegebenen Randbedingungen zu entwickeln. Diese sind im Allgemeinen unterschiedlichster Natur; z.B. gibt es Spezifikationen hinsichtlich der Funktionalität, begrenzte Energiereserven oder eine festgelegte Zieltechnologie. Um der Vielzahl an Freiheitsgraden beim Entwerfen Herr zu werden, betrachten wir Systeme unter den drei Gesichtspunkten Anwendung, Entwurfsmethodik und Architektur.

Zu Beginn des Entwurfs wird zunächst der Anwendungszweck des Systems genau definiert und analysiert. Hier kommt es (nicht zuletzt durch die sehr kurzen Produktzyklen) bereits häufig vor, dass genaue Spezifikationen (noch) nicht vorhanden sind und sich erst im Laufe der Entwicklung ergeben oder sich wieder ändern. Unser Schwerpunkt in der Anwendung liegt vor allem bei nachrichtentechnischen Systemen (drahtlose Kommunikation, Codierungsstandards, MIMO-Systeme), die vor allem in mobilen Endgeräten hohe Anforderungen hinsichtlich Durchsatz und Energieeffizienz zeigen. Wir untersuchen aber auch Ambiente Systeme und die Beschleunigung von extrem komplexen finanzmathematischen und wissenschaftlichen Simulationen.

Die Implementierung des Systems kann in einer Vielzahl von Architekturen und Implementierungsstilen durchgeführt werden, wie besipielsweise programmierbare Hardwarebausteine (FPGAs), Anwendungsspezifische Integrierte Schaltungen (ASICs) oder Application Specific Instruction-Set Processors (ASIPs). Neben der Optimierung auf Mikroarchitekturebene beschäftigen wir uns mit heterogenen Systemen, die verschiedene Komponenten vereinen, mit Networks-on-Chip und mit 3D-DRAM.

Um optimale Entwurfsstrategien zu ermitteln stehen uns verschiedene Methodiken zur Verfügung, die uns schon frühzeitig Aussagen z.B. über Flächen- und Energieverbrauch oder Fehlertoleranz der entwickelten Hardware erlauben. Dies erlaubt uns durch Rapid Prototyping umfangreiche Untersuchungen des Entwurfsraums (Design Space Exploration) durchzuführen. High-Level Synthese kommt hierbei ebenso zum Einsatz wie die manuelle Verfeinerung eines Systems vom funktionalen Modell bis zur Hardwarebeschreibung.

Kommunikationstechnik

Digitale Kommunikationssysteme sind im Zeitalter der Globalisierung und weltweiten Vernetzung unentbehrlich geworden. Wir erforschen neue Systeme zur Signalverarbeitung und für den Basisbandbereich bzw. PHY-Layer. Die Forschung umfasst dabei den kompletten Weg von Theorie und Algorithmen der Nachrichtentechnik, über Architekturen, bis hin zur Chip Implementierung. Dabei arbeiten Nachrichtentechniker und Hardwaredesigner am Lehrstuhl eng zusammen.

Ausgewählte Projekte:

DRAM

3D-DRAMs (Wide-I/O) sind ein sehr vielversprechender Ansatz für mobile Geräte wie Tablet-PCs und Smartphones. Aber auch im Serverbereich besteht durch die hohe Bandbreite und die Energieeffizienz ein großes Potential für diese neue Speicherarchitektur. In unserer Arbeitsgruppe entwickeln und evaluieren wir neuartige DRAM-Architekturen, die Implementierung von DRAM Controllern und das thermische Verhalten von Wide-I/O DRAM mit Hilfe von virtuellen Plattformen.

Ausgewählte Projekte:

Zuverlässigkeit

Durch die ständige Verkleinerung der Strukturgrößen in der Mikroelektronik können Prozessschwankungen und Umwelteinflüsse nicht länger vernachlässigt werden. In unserer Forschung konzentrieren wir uns auf die Hardware-Zuverlässigkeit in drahtlosen Kommunikationssystemen, so wie in Speichern (SRAM, DRAM). Drahtlose Systeme haben eine inhärente algorithmische Fehlertoleranz und sind deshalb besonders geeignet um Systemperformanz, Hardware-Zuverlässigkeit und Implementierungseffizienz gegeneinander abzuwägen.

Ausgewählte Projekte:

Energieeffizientes High Performance Computing

Unser Lehrstuhl entwickelt und bewertet neue Methoden, die beim Entwurf heterogener Plattformen für High Performance Computing-Anwendungen helfen. Im Speziellen konzentrieren wir uns auf die Beschleunigung von anwendungsübergreifenden Rechenaufgaben, sogenannten "Kernels".

Insbesondere analysieren wir die möglichen Beschleunigungsfaktoren sowie das Energieeinsparpotential durch den Einsatz von FPGAs in finanzmathematischen Simulationen. Wir arbeiten dabei mit neuesten Entwicklungswerkzeugen (High-Level-Synthese, Maxeler Designflow, Vivado Design Flow) sowie den aktuellsten Hardware Plattformen wie der Xilinx Zynq EPP.

Ausgewählte Projekte:

Ambient Systems

Drahtlose Sensornetzwerke sammeln Informationen aus der realen Welt und bilden das Rückgrat zukünftiger Services (Internet of Things, Cyber Physical Systems), die unser Privat- und Arbeitsleben erleichtern sollen. In unseren Forschungen betrachten wir das Thema interdisziplinär von unterschiedlichen Seiten, entwickeln Lösungen und testen deren Zweckdienlichkeit im praktischen Einsatz.

Ausgewählte Projekte:

Virtuelle Prototypen

Unternehmen müssen sich heutzutage mit komplexen Hardwarearchitekturen wie z.B. heterogenen Multi-Core-Systemen beschäftigen. Daher sind neue Entwicklungswerkzeuge und -ansätze wie Virtuelle Prototypen für ein effizientes und schnelles Design auf Systemebene erforderlich. In unserer Forschung verwenden wir SystemC und gem5 basierte virtuelle Plattformen für eine gründliche Design Space Exploration auf Software- und Hardwareebene.

Ausgewählte Projekte:

Zum Seitenanfang